The Education System of Cyprus

Educational System Diagram

The Education system in Cyprus consists of the following stages:

Pre-Primary education:
Pre-Primary Education is compulsory for all children between 4 8/12 5 8/12 years old. Children are also accepted over the age of 3. This level of education aims to satisfy the childrens needs for the development of a wholesome personality in an experiential environment which enables them to recognize their capabilities and enhance their self-image.

Primary Education:
Primary education is compulsory for all children over the age of 5 8/12 and has a duration of 6 years. The aim of Primary Education is to create and secure the necessary learning opportunities for children regardless of age, sex, family and social background and mental abilities.

Secondary Education:
Secondary General Education offers two three-year cycles of education Gymnasio (lower secondary education) and Lykeio (upper secondary education) to pupils between the ages of 12 and 18. The curriculum includes core lessons, interdisciplinary subjects and a variety of extracurricular activities.

Instead of the Lykeio, pupils may choose to attend Secondary Technical and Vocational Education which provides them with knowledge and skills which will prepare them to enter the workforce or pursue further studies in their area of interest.

Post-Secondary Vocational Education and Training (Post- Secondary Institutes of VET):
Post-Secondary Vocational Education and Training offers all types of vocational education and training and provides students with the necessary qualifications by imparting academic and technical knowledge, as well as professional and practical skills. The duration of the programmes offered is two years, on a 5-day basis.

Higher Education:
At present, public and private universities operate in Cyprus.

Public Universities
1. The University of Cyprus
2. The Cyprus University of Technology
3. The Open University of Cyprus

Private Universities
1. European University Cyprus
2. Frederick University Cyprus
3. University of Nicosia Cyprus
4. Neapolis University Pafos
5. University of Central Lancashire Cyprus

Public Higher Education Institutions
Higher education in Cyprus is also provided by a number of Public Higher Education Institutions, none of which has university status. The Mediterranean Institute of Management (MIM) which operates under the Ministry of Labour, Welfare and Social Insurance offers academic postgraduate programmes of study in Business and Public Administration. The rest of the Public Institutions of Higher Education, offer vocational programmes of study with a duration ranging from one to three academic years. These programmes do not provide access to second cycle programmes. The apolyterion of Secondary Education or equivalent qualification, and entry exams is a prerequisite for access to the programmes offered by these Public Higher Education Institutions. Their programmes of study are considered as accredited. Following the legislation of he Quality Assurance and Accreditation in Higher Education and the Establishment and Operation of an Agency on Related atters Laws, 2015 and 2016, the responsible Authority for the accreditation-validation of their programmes of study is The Cyprus Agency of Quality Assurance and Accreditation in Higher Education.

Private Institutions of Higher Education:
Currently, 43 Private Institutions of Higher Education are registered with the Ministry of Education and Culture. Private Institutions of Higher Education do not have university status but they offer both academic and vocational programmes of study at the undergraduate and postgraduate levels. Their programmes of study are evaluated and accredited by The Cyprus Agency of Quality Assurance and Accreditation in Higher Education.

Web and Communication Service - Cyprus Ministry of Education, Culture, Sport and Youth